What is the Erasmus Program?

Erasmus program is a European Union education and training  program which aims to increase the quality of higher education in Europe.  For this purpose, the Program promotes co-operation between higher education institutions in Europe.   The partnerships and mobility activities are financially supported by the Program.

Erasmus is the EU's flagship education and training program enabling 200 000 students to study and work abroad each year. In addition, it funds co-operation between higher education institutions across Europe. The program supports not only students, but also professors and business staffs who want to teach abroad, as well as helping university staff to receive training.

Erasmus seeks to enhance the quality and reinforce the European dimension of higher education by encouraging transnational cooperation between universities, boosting European mobility and improving the transparency and full academic recognition of studies and qualifications throughout the Union.

Erasmus consists of many different activities; student and teacher exchanges, joint development of study program (Curriculum Development), international intensive programs, thematic networks between departments and faculties across Europe, language courses (EILC), European credit transfer system (ECTS).

The European Commission is responsible for the overall implementation of Erasmus Program. Actions are managed by national agencies in the 32 participating countries or by Executive Agency for Education, Audiovisual and Culture based in Brussels.

Detailed information about Erasmus programme can be found on the EU Commission's Lifelong Learning Programme web page linked below: